« Olivia Judson on evolution in progress | Main | Brilliant, Larry »

08 November 2005

Perils of URLs

An email this morning from TEDster Julian Treasure gave me huge pleasure. Unbelievably, these are all real sites.
------------
A few salutary examples that should make us all think twice...

Firstly there is Who Represents?, a database for agencies to the rich and famous:  http://www.whorepresents.com

Second is the Experts Exchange, a knowledge base where programmers can exchange advice and views:  http://www.expertsexchange.com

Looking for a pen? Look no further than Pen Island:  http://www.penisland.net

Need a therapist? Try:  http://www.therapistfinder.com

And there is an Italian Power company:  http://www.powergenitalia.com

Finally we have the Mole Station Native Nursery, based in New South Wales:  http://www.molestationnursery.com

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c4e5853ef00d8342341d853ef

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Perils of URLs:

» penisland.net from The Republic of Geektronica
Its not what you think. Pen Island obviously did not think very hard (no pun intended) before buying their domain name. Ouch. More bruisers here. In case youre still wondering, they really do sell pens. Just pens. After all, the penis m... [Read More]

» A Series of Unfortunate URLs from Timbu :: Musings
C.S. pointed me to an amusing list of unfortunate urls;. The worst one I think is http://www.molestationnursery.com/. Don't worry it's work safe, it's not what you think.... [Read More]

» A Series of Unfortunate URLs from Timbu :: Musings
C.S. pointed me to an amusing list of unfortunate urls. The worst one I think is http://www.molestationnursery.com/. Don't worry it's work safe, it's not what you think.... [Read More]

» penisland.net from Geldsachen
Nein, das ist nicht, was Sie dachten. Offenkundig dachten die JungsbeiPen Island nicht bermig lange bei der Wahl des Domainnamens nach. Die verkaufen wirklich nur Stifte.Danke, danke dafr. Mehr hier.... [Read More]

Comments

I read the url (http://www.whorepresents.com) and read it as "whore presents" (not "who represents"). given it is about talent agencies, maybe my reading was a bit accurate?

Er, Rich, that's the whole point of the post... they're all screwed up names.

oops, a bit slow on the uptake today, i see.

Thank you very much for this information.

sesli sohbet
mirc sohbet
sohbet
muhabbet

thanks for this post admin
Oyun oyna Yeni oyun

Thanks You
--------------------------------------------------
sohbet-sohbet odaları-chat-muhabbet

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment

Tools for TED.com

Subscribe to the TED Blog's RSS feed >>
Get the free TED Miro player >>
Get TED and Ideo's Big Questions widget >>
Join TED on Facebook >>
Follow TEDTalks on Twitter >>


News about TED2009

Find all TED Blog posts about TED2009 >>
Follow TED2009 on Twitter >>
Follow TED@PalmSprings on Twitter >>
See TED2009's Flickr stream >>

NEW: Watch TEDTalks from TED2009 >>

Tips? Comments? Contact us.
See a glitch in a TED video? Report a bug >>


Get the latest news on the TED Prize on TEDPrize.org >>